DIY Auditory Journaling

Every time I’ve started a blog post this past week I’ve bored myself by the third sentence, shut the computer and found some cereal. There’s just a whole lot of nothing to talk about and I think you get my drift.  If life were swimming strokes I’d be doing the freestyle crawl now, not as chill as breast stroke but not pre-concussion backstroke (although I could be in backstroke and not realize some wall is a lot closer than I’d anticipated! Ugh I hope that is not the case) or the desperate flail of “butterfly” (umm I’ve got to ask if the person who named the “butterfly stroke” ever actually saw a butterfly.  If they had I’d think they’d notice that butterflies are seemingly a lot calmer in flight than a human trying to imitate them in the water).

On another note this October is the anniversary of my monthly spotify playlists!  One year ago to this day I started making a monthly playlist reflecting that particular month in songs I’d listened to, discovered, or just that matched the times.  In a way it’s a musical version of journaling!  I’ve never been super enthusiastic about writing down my thoughts because, frankly I’m lazy and don’t feel the burning desire to write to myself.  I do write none-sending letters though, which might be the same thing except I like the freedom of writing to someone without any apprehension about what I’m saying.  Meh, whatever I’ve gone off the rails—BUT I do encourage you to write letters without sending them (unless you really want to)  to anyone, (especially God, actually writing letters to God is one of my favorite ways to talk with Him).  OK now back to the Musical Journaling!  Musical journals by month are really fun and cool because you can go back to a certain month and “hear” how you felt instead of reading your words.  Maybe that song was a better indicator of your emotional weather than you’re words would’ve been.  Try it this lovely October!

Want some samples of my 2012 October?? Ha, probably not, but play along 😉

Missing Pieces–Jack White

Sea Above, Sky Below–Dirty Three

We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together–none other than the Taylor Swift…! Come one, let me have it.

Samson–Regina Spektor

Breezeblocks–alt-J

Just wrapped up September 2013 yesterday with ‘Amsterdam’ by Gregory Alan Isakov.  Normally Mr. Isakov’s music appears in high doses from mid-October through early December, with a pick up again in January to late March.

I’ve gone crazy, couldn’t you tell? Threw stones at the stars but the whole sky fell.  —Favorite line of favorite Isakov song.

Wellll, I guess I’ll throw out some visual now too?  We’ll start with some of our favorite pre-nurses at the Color Run.  More accurately know as:  The Dirty Hersh!

IMG_7049

 

IMG_7017

 

Team (Domico Men) Golden Bears are having a rockin’ season!

1382785_10201679451884071_1145231300_n

 

Sisterly Love is in season 😉 as always! Along with a solid chaser of crazy.

1379270_10201693098705233_1341657603_n

The Dirty Hersh Crew found a new relative in Burnham PA.  Cousin Pedro and his questionably cheap (but good!?) burritos.

Muchos Gracias.

DSC00246

DSC00248

Too bad we didn’t have any jordan almonds to “snack” on for the car ride home! (please understand this, yes it’s a problem but Bridesmaids is too real life in nursing camp!)  Let’s just say we were all very….gastrointestinally-cautious after waving “adios!” to Cousin Pedro.  Turned out we can visit our dear cousin again 🙂

DSC00249

Leave a Reply

