“Umm, You Have Pudding In Your Hair”

That’s what sweetest-sister-Claire lovingly pointed out to me as we both absorbed some instant pistachio pudding yesterday’s rainy afternoon. Ugh! Why do I like this stuff??  What is with me that  I’m attracted to aspartame-flavored synthetic bright green gelatinous mass?  Yumm. Green goo. Let’s eat it!  Well, there are some pistachio flecks for decoration.  Now it’s in my hair?!? What A Slob. Ew Ew EW.  Rebecca, you might as well throw on some sweats and go back to Downton Abbey re-runs.  Once there’s pudding in your hair you’ve lost the game.

New Slang–The Shins

On Trees and Birds and Fire–I Am Oak

Turns out it wasn’t the pudding, it was frosting from a cake I’d just made.  So that probably means hairs in the cake too.  Good thing it’s being test-fed to the familia 😉

Anyways, after possibly freaking you out with the last post I felt it was only right to offer some sweet recompense for wading through the crazy.  Every once in a while I do think you can take some honesty, and maybe in turn be honest with yourself and the things you struggle with.  Anyways, thanks for sticking around! You’re a gem.

So now I’ve got you jonesing for some greenish instant pudding, right?

Image

I used to LOVE pistachio pudding, it was the go-to pudding of growing up besides butterscotch and my dad’s favorite.

“Does this taste…different to you?” –Sister Claire

Hmm, YES. Something is amiss. where’s the party gone?

Suddenly I really look at what I’m eating–a neon swamp.

Not ready to let go of childhood love for said swamp, I needed to save our relationship. Stuck it in cake, worked like a charm.

Pistachio Brownies (lightly adapted from Girl Meets Life, cake batter blondies)

1 box white cake mix

1 box instant pistachio pudding mix

1/4 cup canola oil

1 egg

1/3 cup milk

frosting and chopped pistachios–optional, but the tasters agreed it was a preferred variation.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Combine the cake mix, pudding mix, oil, egg, and milk in a bowl and stir till combined and the batter is smooth.  Pour into a lined/greased 8×8 baking dish and bake for 20 min.  Let sit in the pan for at least 10 min to cool.  When the blondies are completely cool frost them with choice frosting and sprinkle with the chopped pistachios. (can you understand how lazy I was with this recipe?? I totally Sanda Lee-d it with all my pre-made stuff and preservatives!)

Image

If you like green+artificial+whimsy+LooksClassierThanItIs+PistachioLoversAnonymous then you will like these and we will eat them together in front of the Haters.  **Nobody actually hated these, in fact they got impressive reviews from friends who are either afraid to tell me the truth or they actually liked them! 🙂 Good deal, they’re a keeper. 

Image

One thought on ““Umm, You Have Pudding In Your Hair”

Leave a Reply

