Apricot Maple Coffee Cake

To be completely honest I can’t remember how I made this for the life of me.  Sorry guys, and to make matters worse it was a real gem.  While I’m being vain let me say I’ve had a pretty good cake streak this past week, this and a super easy, dense, chewy almond cake.  Both were without recipes and much measurement, I just willed it to be what I wanted and it worked! Haha if only everything else would take a hint and follow as such! 😉 Alright already, yes I’m done.  To pay for this self-glorifying paragraph I’ll probably burn water this week or something equally bizarre. Culinary Karma’s out to get me.  Anyways, I’ll try and remember the ingredients here, but you’d have better luck just looking at the picture and then willing it to happen in your kitchen.  Let us make this an exercise of mind power shall we?  Just keep looking and then walk into your kitchen and start doing…

Apricot Maple Coffee Cake

2 1/2 cups flour

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1/3 cup olive oil

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

pinch salt

1 1/2 teaspoon maple extract

milk (about 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

3/4 cup chopped dried apricot pieces (tossed in sugar)

3-4 tablespoons sugar (for tossing the apricot pieces and nuts in)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Stir together the flour, baking powder, soda, and salt.  In another bowl beat together the oil and sugar on high for 3 minutes.  Add the eggs, and beat for another 2 minutes.  Add the maple extract.  Add the dry ingredients alternating with the milk till all the dry is incorporated and the batter is a cake batter (still thick though) consistency.  Spread into a greased 8×8 baking dish and sprinkle the top withe the sugar coated apricot pieces and nuts.  Bake for about 25 min or till a toothpick comes out clean.

I realized that I said the word “I” a lot in this post.  Please now, how are you?

Leave a Reply

