Toast (Does Not Equal) Breakfast

Does anyone else here not consider toast breakfast?  When I’d be at normal people’s houses and we’d eat toast for breakfast I’d always lie and be all “full” like everyone else as to not appear like a gluttonous freak.  “oh yes, I’m full lalala….” FALSE.  My body is going into famine mode.

However!  Toast is so delicious when made *correctly* aka with real bread.  Not the flimsy store sliced bread.  Toast bread is meant to be hearty, thick, delicious, and if possible home-made (which is not as hard as you think! I’m about to show you.)

A toasted slice of this with some peanut butter cinnamon honey actually qualifies for breakfast in my book.  Maybe not in your’s but it’s always good to expand your reading.  My book’s got great reviews (From me).  You can read this chapter for breakfast 😉

This bread is from CookingLight Magazine actually, and it’s really deliciously thick and grainy, perfect for cold mornings! 

P.S. if it strikes your fancy, add about a 2 teaspoons to a tablespoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon cloves, and a dash of nutmeg to the dry ingredients!  Makes the baking smell even better.

Good Morning, and Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Toast (Does Not Equal) Breakfast

  1. I totally agree! The only places I enjoy toast are at the Waffle Shop with my Western Omelette and home fries, or at those back country PA restaurants where it’s real homemade bread. I also love Pepperidge Farm’s cinnamon swirl bread with peanut butter…..3 or 4 slices of that for toast is a sufficient breakfast for me. 🙂

  2. Toast does work in a pinch, however. (Woke up late, rushing out the door, going to starve to death without *something*…) It has the potential to be an excellent meal, given multiple pieces and a delectable assortment of butters, spreads, jellies, jams, and marmalades.

    And of course, home-made bread outclasses store-sliced bread any time!

  3. Pingback: Oat’s ‘n’ Toast…Quinoa Oat Granola Bars | The Blueberry Days

Leave a Reply

