Butterscotch Pretzel Brittle

Time for something salty-sweet but not chocolate.  Don’t get me wrong, chocolate is Definition 12

But I do love me some butterscotch chips, and while we’re being honest: I actually prefer to eat butterscotch chips over chocolate chips! blasphemy I’m so sorry! Really I do feel kind of guilty for my Chip World preferences. 

Sooo I had some extra of them left over from those banana blondies, and decided to throw them on this brittle.  The taste was kind of addictive but the texture was like eating gravel-I attributed this to not enough toffee mixture so I upped those ingredients for you below and all should be just peachy.

Butterscotch Pretzel Brittle

2 1/2 to 3 cups crushed sourdough pretzels (I used the nuggets)

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup butterscotch chips

Spread the crushed pretzels out on a baking sheet lined with (greased!!!) parchment paper.  In a medium saucepan bring butter and sugar to a boil, stirring and watching constantly as soon as you notice the sugar melting.  Boil for about 3 minutes. Carefully pour evenly over crushed pretzels.

*I’ve been doing some research on this recipe’s cousin, ‘Saltine Toffee’, and have found a lot of other people’s sites have you bake the toffee-covered pretzels at this point in a 400 degree oven for just under 5 minutes, I did not do that  but probably will give it a shot next time.  These were still good regardless of the oven or not.

While the toffee is still really hot (DO NOT TOUCH IT. like I did) sprinkle the butterscotch chips over top to let them melt onto the toffee.  Use all the restraint you can get at this point to let the whole thing cool down completely then break it up into pieces as you would peppermint bark.

?

