Chocolate Chip Caramel (Microwave!) Cake

yeah it really did come from the microwave. And you thought microwave magic stopped at brownies?? Oh no my friend, it goes far beyond-all you need are the right cravings and your mind will tell you what to do.  Really, like if I crave melty caramel-y chocolatey gooey goodness but need it FAST all I have to do is act on animal instinct and the result has about a 95% chance of complete satisfaction.  Your brain knows exactly what it’s craving (or your stomach I guess) and will drive itself, looking back I felt kind of like a cooking robot-dictated by the chocolate/caramel need.

Chocolate Chip Caramel Microwave Cake

1 box cake mix (I used butter pecan, but yellow or white would be great too)

1 egg

5 tablespoons melted butter

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (regular would work fine too)

1/2 to 3/4 bag unwrapped caramels (I used the Kraft bag) 

1/4 cup milk

more chocolate chips to sprinkle on top

In a medium bowl combine cake mix, egg, butter, 1/2 cup chocolate chips and water.  Pour into a greased 8×8 microwave-safe baking dish and microwave it for 5-6 minutes, stopping every 2 minutes to rotate it if your microwave doesn’t already do that on it’s own.  Let it cool.  In a medium saucepan melt the caramels with the milk, then pour over cooled cake, sprinkle with chocolate chips.  

Let me know how it turns out if you make it!

?

