When Penguins Pick Bananas

So watch this video and make these:

Your day might not get any better (sorry Ambrose, I’m right there with you today) but your taste buds and vocal chords (from imitating that penguin tickle noise-the insatiable need to re-create that sound after watching the video.  I have it.)  will be doing at least O.K.

Butterscotch Banana Blondies

This is how it is done.

2 super ripe bananas (this recipe wouldn’t have been born today without black bananas and a cranked up post-work fruitloop.  You’ll never guess who That is I’m sure.)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 to 3/4 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and while you’re waiting on that to heat up really mash the bananas-like they should be as close to the consistency of butter as you can possibly get.  I used a fork but next time I’ll be throwing them in the food processor.  That is how serious I am about butter consistency here-it’s worth washing that huge menacing blade.  So then combine your banana “butter” and sugars in a medium sauce pan and bring to a steady simmer till the sugar is dissolved (stir a lot here).  Cool it. Add egg and vanilla.  Add in flour, then butterscotch chips.  Pour into a greased 8×8 (or similar sized) pan and bake for 20 min (check on them at 15 minutes and run the toothpick test, I like my blondies on the chewier side).

?

