Mirrors

Last weekend my mom painted my mirror frame black, note my room is super white.  Now it’s hanging on the wall opposite my head-first thing I see every morning is my shining frizzed up head…Good morning to you too!!

Anyways, while looking for hair clay I stumbled up on a glass-writer marker.  Of course I must use it to write all over the new mirror!  What to write?  What would you write?? I thought about what I actually wanted to see written over my reflection every day, then my thoughts turned to what I needed to see written over my reflection every day.  Which is why my mirror has a few of my favorite verses on it now-good reminders of what really makes a person beautiful while I’m “beautifying” myself before public exposure.  What makes you beautiful?  What do you think makes others beautiful?  I don’t know about you but the stand-out beauty that makes you take a second look at a person is the beauty they are reflecting that is not of their own.  A person is most beautiful when they are aware of the origin of their beauty, being created in their Creator’s image and letting themselves be windows to the divine beauty.  *I know if you’re reading this now you might just shuffle this post off to the side because it doesn’t include brownies or a slightly frazzled chat-monologue on daily-isms.  Well nobody’s chained you to this website and it’s up to you whether you read it or not.  Moving on.  

-A beautiful person delights in being a window to true beauty, their beauty is outwardly reflected but inwardly grounded. -A beautiful person strives to help others see God’s beauty within themselves and appreciates the unique refections of God’s beauty in others.

‘And your fame spread among the nations on account of your beauty, because the splendor I had given you made your beauty perfect, declares the Sovereign Lord.’ Ezekiel 16:14

In a nutshell : “…grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console; to be understood, as to understand; to be loved as to love…”-piece from ‘Prayer of St. Francis’  (I love this entire prayer, scan it over! Funny side story about it, when I was in Italy two summers ago on a tour with my school’s strings ensemble I bought some copies of this prayer in one of the shops outside the Basilica of Saint Francis in Assisi.  It’s one of those writings that keep showing up in my life-do you have one of those? Like a quote or a song even, that just shows up noticeably every once in a while.  Ok, so then about a week ago I was reading it again and had the urge to copy it down in my journal just for kicks, THEN 2 days later my good dear friend, Emma, gave me a beautiful bracelet with a piece of the prayer engraved onto it-because another friend of hers was going to get rid of it-AND she just thought I’d like it! WOW too many coincidences there…but pretty interesting)

‘One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.’ Psalm 27:4

