Boiled In Acid and Microwave Magic

It is July in case you’ve been living under a rock the past 13 days, and July has a horrible reputation among all the months of the year to be unbearably hot and humid.  So if I even think about cranking up the oven my mother will undoubtedly shank me and all kitchen privileges would be promptly yanked. 

But yesterday I needed a shot of brownie like I need watermelon gum and deoderant on a sweltering mid-August day.  After an ambitious run (turned into a part walk after I couldn’t even feel my own thoughts from heat) in the mind-numbing heat with the sun frying my face and drenching me in un-ladylike amounts of sweat, I crawled home needing a reminder of why I  willingly boil myself in acid.

So why?  Brownies of course! (honestly looking over the recipes I post here, 80% are brownies!  I need to branch out but not today.)

Dilemma, One must eat a brownie but she does not know if she is willing to suffer the consequences of severe mother anger and possible kitchen banishment…

What would you do?

I’ll tell you what I did.

I played fair and skipped around that land mine by using the microwave instead 😉

Do not be hesitant, I was, I didn’t want a spongy awkward cake brownie.  Actually there shouldn’t even be such a term as ‘cake brownies’ or ‘cake-like brownies’ because then they are simply just dense chocolate cake, not a piece fudgy euphoric chocolate experience.  So needless to say I was a little apprehensive about trying this out but the need for intense chocolate overcame me and before I knew it they were spinning away in the microwave .  The happy ending: they are nicely dense and crumbly and perfectly adequate to satisfy a fudgy chocolate craving if you have 10 minutes to spare.  A good quick fix for those desperate times J

Microwave Magic Fudge Brownies

(recipe adapted from Food Network’s George Duran)

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

3oz unsweetened baking chocolate (or you can use cocoa, in which case increase butter to a full stick-8 tablespoons)

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ cup flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

¼- ½ cup chocolate chips, heath bar pieces, cookies n’ cream kisses,  or peanut butter swirl here can be awesome I’m sure too!

In one small bowl combine flour, baking powder, and salt.  In another bowl beat together eggs and sugar till pale yellow (about 1-2  min) and stir in vanilla.  In yet another bowl (this is the real deal bowl, where all the ingredients will end up) melt the butter and chocolate in the microwave till fully melted, about 1-2 minutes.  Make sure it’s kind of cool before adding the other ingredients so not to add scrambled eggs. EW.  Moving on-add the egg/sugar and flour mixture and stir ill combined.  Pour into a greased, microwave-safe 8×8 baking dish and microwave on high for 4-4 ½ min watching the whole time!!

Fudge Frosting

2 tablespoons butter

1-2 tablespoons milk (depending on how thick you want this)

2 tablespoons cocoa powder (UNLESS you want peanut butter fudge frosting, when you’d leave the cocoa powder out and ad 1-2 tablespoons peanut butter!)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 ½ to 2 cups powdered sugar (start with 1 cup and check consistency, shouldn’t be too thin, thick but pourable and viscous)

Melt butter with milk in a microwave-safe bowl till fully melted, then stir in cocoa (or peanut butter, OR you could just go ahead and make it a chocolate and peanut butter fudge frosting! Nobody’s stopping you, definitely not me.) then add vanilla and powdered sugar.  While still warm pour over brownies (it sets up quickly so work!).  Let sit about 4-10 minutes before cutting if you can resist (don’t worry if you can’t, I certainly didn’t make 5 minutes…)

