Lemon Almond Cabbage Salad

I know I know, you’ve suffered way too many recipes for the word that will remain unsaid because of it’s ugliness.  But I was craving a fresh, crunchy, substantial-yet-light dinner after getting home from another full day of horrid 90+ degree humidity.  So I scanned the fridge and my recipe brain software revved up.  Half a bag of shredded cabbage/carrots (this is one of the very few ways I’ll eat beta carotene at all), 1 pathetic green onion, half a vidalia onion, a shriveled lemon, and a bag of fresh parsley (which I got all excited over because we never have fresh herbs but then I opened the bag and it was practically rotten.  Needless to say they were discarded of immediately.)  I could work with that.  Tossed in some almonds to finish it off and I was shocked at how not only did it satisfy my craving but it actually tasted GOOD! Like, I would actually make this even if it wasn’t the only option.   

Lemon Almond Cabbage Salad

1/2 bag shredded cabbage with carrots

juice and zest of 1 lemon

3-4 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon dried parsley (but if you have fresh NOT rotting parsley use it!! Make it about 1/4 cup chopped fresh)

1 green onion, finely chopped (but if you can, use 5 and skip the vidalia onion then)

1/2 vidalia onion, finely chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4-1/2 tsp pepper (basically just add a little salt and pepper to taste)

1/2 cup chopped almonds (toasting would be nice but I was impatient and hungry)

Combine lemon juice, zest, olive oil, salt, pepper, and parsley in a bowl and whisk.  Add the rest of the ingredients toss to combine.  Good to let the flavors meld a bit in the fridge while you go take a shower or eat right away!  Follow up with a grape popsicle.

 

