Oh-I Made Pralines!

but didn’t take a finished picture…because I cheated and instead of making nice little spoonfuls of individual candy pieces, I poured the whole batch into a large baking dish and let it cool.  Then I broke it up like you would chocolate bark, which worked just fine but if you’re making it for people you care about and not just your raging sugar needs, make them individual (and not slabs of sugar).

I cannot lie.  I literally ate 1/4 of the batch. WHAAT? yes I did that. I had the biggest head rush (do your research and find out that praline=sugar melted with butter, hence the loss of mind control).  

AnyNut Pralines 

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup milk

1 cup chopped or not chopped nut of your choice (I used walnuts, but if I’d had pistachios, coconut, or pecans I’d use those)

Bring all ingredients (except for the nuts!) to a boil in a saucepan, stir and cook for 8-9 minutes.  Take the pan off the heat and beat it with a whisk (or I found a wooden spoon works here, but work it! really beat it.) for 2-3 minutes.  Fold in nuts.  Pour into a greased casserole dish (or spoon into nice little pieces on parchment paper) and let set till cool. Break it as you would chocolate.  Enjoy! 

*I’m ashamed to admit this recipe is a variation of Rachel Ray’s Basic Praline Recipe. But credit where credit is due. Thanks Rachel.

