La Vie En Rose

When I’m cooking for pleasure I like to have two companions: lemonade seltzer water, and music to inspire the kitchen mood.  Today was pretty lonely at home and overcast outside so I decided to turn on my ‘La Vie En Rose’  pandora playlist.  ’La Vie En Rose’ have you heard it?  It’s the kind of song I envision a couple dancing to in their kitchen or out on a lilac covered porch on a late spring evening…  

My mom wanted me to have dinner ready for the hungry men in my family after baseball practice today, here’s what I had to work with: chicken and asparagus-> 2 extremely versatile ingredients so my options were endless.  The music had put me in the mood for something classic, romantic, possibly with a little french spring flare.  Remembering a recipe I’d stumbled upon in a CookingLight cookbook earlier today I started with the idea of rosemary chicken.  The result was a succulent, luscious, and made me want to wear this dress (or this one!) while dancing on that spring sunset lilac-swathed porch…   😉

3 skinless boneless chicken breasts, beat till tender/cut to make 6 pieces.

2-3 tablespoons rosemary infused olive oil

1 tablespoon crushed dried rosemary 

1/2 cup chopped green onions

1/3 cup white wine

1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth

3 tablespoons heavy cream or milk

salt and pepper

Cover both sides of the chicken pieces with salt and pepper.  Heat oil in a large pan over medium high heat and cook chicken till browned on both sides (about 2.5 min per side).  Add the green onions, rosemary, wine, and chicken broth.  Cook down for 3 minutes then add the cream and cook for another 2 minutes till sauce is thickened slightly and chicken is fully cooked.  I served this with roasted asparagus (just roast asparagus with some olive oil, salt, and pepper at 400 degrees for 20 min then sprinkle with lemon juice) and polenta (could use angel hair pasta or rice too).

Now close your eyes and hear that jazz and smell those lilacs…

“Hold me close and hold me fast, the magic spell you cast, this is la vie en rose…”  🙂

