I spent this past weekend at home, good times reminding me why I am a nutcase and why I love bein

I spent this past weekend at home, good times reminding me why I am a nutcase and why I love being in my family 🙂 My mom and I did some serious cooking, heaven!!! Seriously, next time you need the therapist grab your favorite chef’s knife, some carrots/celery and go to town! Congrats! you just saved a bucket of $ doing something a lot more productive than whining over unfair teachers and silly pantyhose-wearing girls. There’s something indescribably satisfying about slicing into a mushroom, not a crunch or any plant slime-just pure velvety pale earthy mushroom flesh. Slicing endless mushrooms.  A great day for all!

Here’s what all that mushroom infatuation resulted in:  Not quite your average cream of mushroom soup-a little kick to it.

Earthy Velvet Mushroom Soup

1 onion, chopped

1 lb mushrooms (I used portabellas, use whatever just not the miserable little white ones and do not even consider the one’s in the can)

5 cups low sodium chicken stock

1/2 cup sherry

1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp paprika

1 tsp parsley (dried or better yet a bunch chopped up fresh)

1/2 to 3/4 cup reduced fat sour cream

Saute onions in olive oil with salt and pepper for 1 minute then add the sliced mushrooms, cook for 5-8 min till onions are translucent and mushrooms have cooked down and are not resembling rubbery styrofoam.  Sprinkle over with the flour and stir-cook another 2-3 min (it will look pasty and gross, hang in there).  Add the sherry, cook for 1 min, then add the broth gradually simmering away.  Add the parsley, paprika and more salt/pepper to taste.  Simmer till slightly thick, cool slightly then stir in sour cream.  I put it back on the heat till cream is fully melted down and soup is hot.  This is good stuff.  I hate sour cream but it did it’s job here well.

